Tel-Aviv University

Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences

Call for Nominations for the Year 2004

in the field of

Observational or Theoretical Astronomy and Astrophysics

Winners Announced!


The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences was established through the generosity of Dr. Raymond and Mrs. Beverly Sackler. Prizes are awarded each year in the disciplines of either Physics or Chemistry. The Sackler Prize supports dedication to science, originality and excellence, and it is intended for young scientists who have made outstanding and fundamental contributions in their fields.

The Sackler Prize is administered by Tel-Aviv University (TAU). In 2004 a prize of $40,000 will be presented for outstanding research in the field of observational or theoretical astronomy and astrophysics *1. The prize will be awarded to the recipient, in person, at the annual session of the TAU Board of Governors meeting (during the week of 16 May 2004).

There is an age limit of 40 for all nominees. To be eligible the nominee's birth date must be after 15 February 1963.

The coordinator for the 2004 Sackler Prize is Prof. Yuval Ne'eman (TAU).
The assistant coordinator is Prof. Amiel Sternberg (TAU).

An international selection panel composed of leading scientists in the field is appointed each year. The astronomy and astrophysics panel for Year 2004 has been appointed.

Nominations for the Sackler Prize can be made by individuals in any of the following categories:
1) Faculty of Astronomy, Chemistry, or Physics departments in institutions of higher learning world wide.
2) Presidents, Rectors, Vice-Presidents, Provosts and Deans, of institutions of higher learning world wide.
3) Directors of astronomical observatories and laboratories world wide.
4) Members of the Tel Aviv University Senate, or of the Israel Academy of Arts and Sciences and Humanities.
5) Sackler Prize laureates.

All nominations (pdf) should be submitted in writing before the deadline of 15 February 2004 to the following address:

Prof. Yuval Ne'eman
Raymond and Beverly Sackler Faculty of Exact Sciences
School of Physics and Astronomy
Tel-Aviv University
Ramat Aviv 69978

Each nomination should include a brief description of the nominee's achievements, and must be supported by at least two letters of recommendation and include the nominee's CV and list of publications.

Members of TAU faculty are not eligible to receive the prize. Self-nominations cannot be accepted.

For email inquiries please contact

*1 Not including Earth and Solar System Space Sciences.