

Institute of Advanced Studies



# Conference on 60 YearS of Yang-Mills Gauge Field Theories CN Yang's Contributions to Physics

## 25 to 28 May 2015 • Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

#### **CO-CHAIRS**

Lars BRINK Chalmers Univ. of Technology

Kok Khoo PHUA IAS, Nanyang Technological Univ.

#### **ADVISORY BOARD**

Sir Michael ATIYAH The Univ. of Edinburgh Fields Medallist 1966

**David GROSS** *KITP, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara Nobel Laureate in Physics 2004* 

Ludwig FADDEEV PDMI, Russian Academy of Sciences

Peter GODDARD IAS, Princeton

Roman JACKIW MIT

#### **INTERNATIONAL ORGANISING COMMITTEE**

CERN

Lay Nam CHANG Virginia Tech

**Ngee Pong CHANG** The City Univ. of New York

Yongmin CHO Konkuk Univ.

**Da Hsuan FENG** Univ. of Macau

**Kazuo FUJIKAWA** RIKEN

Molin GE Nankai Univ.

Hua Zhong Ll Sun Yat-sen Univ.

Zhong Qi MA IHEP, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Bruce MCKELLAR Univ. of Melbourne & IUPAP

Antti NIEMI Uppsala Univ.

George STERMAN

Edward WITTEN IAS, Princeton Tai Tsun WU

Kenneth YOUNG The Chinese Univ. of Hong Kong

**Bang Fen ZHU** Tsinghua Univ.

### SPEAKERS

**David GROSS** *KITP, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara Nobel Laureate in Physics 2004* 

Lars BRINK Chalmers Univ. of Technology Hong Mo CHAN RAL, Science and Technology Facilities Council Lay Nam CHANG Virginia Tech Ngee Pong CHANG The City Univ. of New York Alexander CHAO Stanford Univ. Ling Lie CHAU Univ. of California, Davis Robert CREASE Stony Brook Univ. Michael CREUTZ Brookhaven National Laboratory Tohru EGUCHI Rikkyo Univ. Ludwig FADDEEV PDMI. Russian Academy of Sciences Michael FISHER Univ. of Maryland Kazuo FUJIKAWA RIKEN Xi Wen GUAN WIPM, Chinese Academy of Sciences Sen HU Univ. of Science and Technology of China Kerson HUANG MIT & IAS, Nanyang Technological Univ.

Henrik JOHANSSON Uppsala Univ.

Louis KAUFFMAN Univ. of Illinois at Chicago

Ren Bao LIU The Chinese Univ. of Hong Kong

**Chen Ning YANG** *Tsinghua Univ.* Nobel Laureate in Physics 1957

Zhong Qi MA IHEP, Chinese Academy of Sciences Bruce MCKELLAR Univ. of Melbourne & IUPAP Benni REZNIK Tel Aviv Univ. George SAVVIDY INP, Demokritos, National Center for Scientific Research Samson SHATASHVILI Trinity College Dublinh George STERMAN Stony Brook Univ. Sheung Tsun TSOU Univ. of Oxford Sze Hoi Henry TYE IAS, The Hong Kong Univ. of Science and Technology Jie WEI FRIB, Michigan State Univ. Sau Lan WU CERN Tai Tsun WU CERN Yong Shi WU Univ. of Utah Li Hua YU Brookhaven National Laboratory Anthony ZEE KITP, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara Hui ZHAI IAS, Tsinghua Univ. Bang Fen ZHU Tsinghua Univ. & others

During the last six decades, Yang-Mills theory has increasingly become the cornerstone of theoretical physics. It is seemingly the only fully consistent relativistic quantum many-body theory in four spacetime dimensions. As such it is the underlying theoretical framework for the Standard Model of Particle Physics, which has been shown to be the correct theory at the energies we now can measure. It has been investigated also from many other perspectives, and many new and unexpected features have been uncovered from this theory. In recent decades, apart from high energy physics, the theory has been actively applied in other branches of physics, such as statistical physics, condensed matter physics, nonlinear systems, etc. This makes the theory an indispensable topic for all who are involved in physics.

#### www.ntu.edu.sg/ias



Supported by:



School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences



South East Asia Theoretical Physics Association