The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences, awarded at Tel Aviv University (TAU), has been established through the generosity of Dr. Raymond and Mrs. Beverly Sackler. It is awarded alternatively in the fields of Physics and Chemistry. The prize is intended to encourage dedication to science, originality and excellence by rewarding outstanding young scientists.


2008Physics Beyond the Standard Model in the LHC Era.
Prof. Nima Arkani-Hamed, School of Natural Sciences, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton,
New Jersey, USA
2006Theoretical or Experimental Nuclear/Hadron Physics
Prof. Thomas Glasmacher, Michigan State University
Prof. Yuri V. Kovchegov, Ohio State University
2004Observational or Theoretical Astronomy and Astrophysics
Prof. Andrea M. Ghez, University of California, Los Angeles
Prof. Adam G. Riess, The Johns Hopkins University
2002Physics of Engineered Materials
Prof. Dr. Leo P. Kouwenhoven, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Prof. Dr. Ullrich Steiner, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
2000 Theoretical High Energy Physics
Prof. Michael R. Douglas, Rutgers State University
Prof. Juan Martin Maldacena, Institute of Advanced Study, Princeton


The Sackler Prize is administered by TAU through an advisory committee comprised of the President and Rector of TAU as ex-officio members and others who have been selected ad personam by the President and the Rector. The non ex-officio members are appointed to a three year term.

Members of TAU faculty are not eligible to receive the prize.

  • A selection panel composed of outstanding scientists in the field is appointed, reflecting an international diversity of this professional area. (One panel member, however, has to be a Professor at TAU.)


  • Presidents, Rectors, Vice-Presidents, Provosts, Deans in the Natural Sciences
  • Professors of Physics and Chemistry in recognized international institutions of higher learning and research in Israel and abroad.
  • Sackler Prize Laureates.
  • Members of the TAU Senate and Members of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities.
  • Members of TAU faculty are not eligible to receive the prize
  • It is not permitted to nominate oneself.


  • Nomination form
  • At least one letter of recommendation
  • The nominee's Curriculum Vitae
  • The nominee's list of publications
  • A brief description or summary of the nominee's research.

Contact Information

Ms. Joan Shwachman-Yichye
Scientific Editor, Mortimer and Raymond Sackler Institute of Advanced Studies
Tel-Aviv University
Ramat Aviv, Israel 69978
Tel: +972-3-640-8560
Fax: +972-3-642-4264