February 2, 2003

January 2003


Flags are at half-mast at TAU in memory of Col. Ilan Ramon, the first Israeli astronaut and an alumnus of the university, and his six co-astronauts aboard the space shuttle Columbia. Ilan Ramon's major assignment on this flight was TAU's MEIDEX experiment.

Two TAU professors have been elected members of the sixteenth Knesset: Prof. Yuli Tamir of the School of Philosophy (Labor Party), and Prof. Victor Brailovsky of the School of Computer Science (Shinui Party).

A symposium entitled "Economy and Politics in the Context of the Current Situation" in memory of Amnon Ben-Nathan was held with the participation of MK Avraham (Beige) Shohat, former Minister of Finance; Ohad Marani, Director-General of the Ministry of Finance; and Prof. Yitzhak Gal-Nor of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Moderator of the event was Prof. Alex Cukierman, incumbent of the Amnon Ben-Nathan Chair of Economics.


Prof. Halina Abramowicz of the School of Physics and Astronomy has been elected incumbent of the Nathan Cummings Chair for Experimental Particle Physics, replacing Prof. Gideon Alexander.

Prof. David Bergman of the School of Physics and Astronomy has been elected incumbent of the Joseph and Rebecca Meyerhoff Chair in Theoretical Solid State Physics and Physics and Thermodynamics, replacing Prof. Mark Azbel.

Prof. Emanuel Peled of the School of Chemistry has been elected incumbent of the Nathan Cummings Chair of Pure and Applied Electrochemistry, replacing Prof. Eliezer Gileadi.


Brandeis University joined TAU in an international conference entitled "Nahum Goldmann - Statesman without a State" at the Nahum Goldmann Museum of the Diaspora on campus. Brandeis President Jehuda Reinharz and TAU President Itamar Rabinovich, who chaired the conference, delivered opening remarks. The keynote address was given by Prof. Shlomo Avineri of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. The conference was sponsored by the Conference on Jewish Material Claims against Germany and the Memorial Foundation for Jewish Culture. Nahum Goldmann was a member of the TAU Board of Governors.

"Israel-US Relations - The Media Aspect" was held by TAU and the Press Council in memory of journalist Moshe Zak. Three former Israeli ambassadors to the US took part: Itamar Rabinovich, Zalman Shoval and Meir Rosen. Former Prime Minister Yitzhak Shamir and former Defense Minister MK Moshe Arens attended.

An international symposium was held in Punta del Este, Uruguay, with Friends of TAU from Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay. TAU President Itamar Rabinovich spoke on "The Globalization of Conflict - The Impact on Society and the Economy."

The Twelfth European Regional Conference of the Board of Governors on "Investment Policy in an Era of Uncertainty" was held in St. Moritz, Switzerland. Lectures were delivered by the Chairman of the TAU Board of Governors Michael Steinhardt; Dean of the Faculty of Management Prof. Shmuel Kandel; Chairperson of the Department of Finance Prof. Simon Benninga; Managing Director of Pitango Venture Capital Chemi Peres; and Deputy Director of the French Institute of International Affairs (IFRC) Prof. Dominique Moisi.

Dr. Eliane Karp de Toledo, first lady of Peru, delivered a lecture entitled "The Democratic Struggle in Peru and the Efforts toward Building a New Society, Inclusive and Multicultural." The event was organized by TAU's Institute for Latin American History and Culture.


Executive Graduate Program in Law Studies. Head of the program is Prof. Daphne Barak-Erez of the Buchmann Faculty of Law.

The Center for the Study of Bioterrorism. The center will be interdisciplinary and will be led by Prof. Manfred Green, Head of the Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, Sackler Faculty of Medicine, and Head of the National Institute for Disease Control at the Ministry of Health.


The Laura Schwarz-Kipp Chair for Research of Autoimmune Diseases. Incumbent of the chair is Prof. Yehuda Shoenfeld.

The Nathan Galston Chair for Anti-Microbial Drug Research. Incumbent of the Chair is Prof. Yair Aharonowitz.

The J. Louis Sokolov MD-PhD Assistance Fund, USA

The Zimmerman-Yampolsky Early Childhood Development Program, Israel

The Eva Chava Saenger Scholarship Fund for Outstanding Students in Mathematics, Israel

The Interdisciplinary Center for Children and Youth Studies, Israel

The Henry Crown Institute of Business Research in Israel, USA

The Susy Rubin Cancer Research Fellowship Fund, Brazil

The Maurice and Daniele Bidermann Scholarship Fund, France

The Ziva and Hanoch Finkelstein Scholarship Fund for Advanced Degrees in the Humanities, Israel

The Simon Rajsfus Doctoral Fellowship Fund, France

The Landa Center for Equal Opportunity through Education, Israel

The Pamela and Stanley Chais Project on Economics and Defense, USA

The Gerda Charles Award, England


TAU mourns the passing of:

Prof. Dove Izraeli of the Faculty of Management-Leon Recanati Graduate School of Business Management

Prof. Talma Yzraely of the English Department, Entin Faculty of Humanities

Prof. Zachary Schwartz of the Department of Film and Television, Katz Faculty of the Arts.


TAU Homepage