Call for Nominations of the Chemistry Prize for the Year 2011

The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences, awarded at Tel Aviv University (TAU), has been established through the generosity of Dr. Raymond and Mrs. Beverly Sackler. It is awarded alternatively in the fields of Physics and Chemistry. The prize is intended to encourage dedication to science, originality and excellence by rewarding outstanding young scientists.

Request for Nominations

  • The Chemistry field for the Year 2011 is entitled:
    Molecular dynamics of chemical reactions
  • The age limit has been set at 45 years.
  • The TAU coordinators are Prof. Michael Urbakh and Prof. Eran Rabani, Raymond and Beverly Sackler School of Chemistry
  • This year an amount of $50,000 will be presented.
  • The deadline for receipt of nominations is February 1, 2011.
  • The prize will be awarded to the recipient(s), in person, during the annual session of TAU's Board of Governors in May 2011 and a mini conference will be held in honor of the laureates.


2011 Molecular dynamics of chemical reactions
Professor Gregory D. Scholes, Department of Chemistry, University of Toronto
Professor Martin T. Zanni, Department of Chemistry, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Laureates 2011

2009 Total Synthesis of Biologically Active Natural Products
Prof. Phil S. Baran, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA
Prof. Matthew D. Shair, Harvard University
Prof. Brian M. Stoltz, California Institute of Technology

Laureates 2009

2007Metals in Synthesis
Prof. Christopher C. Cummins, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Prof. John F. Hartwig, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
2005Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Christoph Dellago, University of Vienna
Prof. Christopher Jarzynski, University of Maryland
Prof. David Robert Reichman, Columbia University
2003Advanced Nanostructured Materials
Prof. Chad A. Mirkin, Northwestern University
Prof. Xiaoliang Sunney Xie, Harvard University
2001Physical Chemistry of Advanced Materials
Prof. Moungi B. Bawendi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Prof. James R. Heath, California Institute of Technology


The Sackler Prize is administered by TAU through an advisory committee comprised of the President and Rector of TAU as ex-officio members and others who have been selected ad personam by the President and the Rector. The non ex-officio members are appointed to a three year term.

Members of TAU faculty are not eligible to receive the prize.

  • A selection panel composed of outstanding scientists in the field is appointed, reflecting an international diversity of this professional area. (One panel member, however, has to be a Professor at TAU.)


  • Presidents, Rectors, Vice-Presidents, Provosts, Deans in the Natural Sciences
  • Professors of Physics and Chemistry in recognized international institutions of higher learning and research in Israel and abroad.
  • Sackler Prize Laureates.
  • Members of the TAU Senate and Members of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities.
  • It is not permitted to nominate oneself.


  • Complete the Nomination Form
  • At least one letter of recommendation
  • The nominee's Curriculum Vitae (including date of birth)
  • The nominee's list of publications
  • A brief description or summary of the nominee's research.

Contact Information

Ms. Joan Shwachman-Yichye
Scientific Editor
Mortimer and Raymond Sackler Institute of Advanced Studies,
Tel-Aviv University
Ramat Aviv, Israel 69978
Tel: +972-3-640-5921, 8560
Fax: +972-3-642-4264

Members of the Advisory Committee:
Profs. J. Klafter, President; A. Shai, Rector; S. Yankielowicz, J. Jortner, Y. Aharonov and S. Abarbanel.